There are a surprising number of ways that a person can find themselves with a suspended driver’s license . . . some of them may even come as a surprise.
Here are just some of the reasons someone can get slapped with a suspended license:
- Traffic offense(s)
- Driving recklessly
- Causing a car accident
- Not having valid insurance
- Not being medically approved to drive
- Alcohol-related offense
- Drug offense
- Using a fake ID (or allowing another person to use your ID)
- Being behind on paying child support
- Having a criminal record
- Being involved in a hit and run or using the car to commit another felony
What Happens If You Drive On a Suspended Driver’s License?
It’s all too easy to get behind the wheel of a car and drive away without even realizing you are doing so illegally—but what can happen if you do?
Punishment can range from a $100 fine up to a $2,000 fine and 6 months in jail. Of course, there are other consequences as well. They include having to pay for towing and storage of your vehicle, having an increase in your monthly insurance bill, and possessing a criminal record which every landlord, employer, and creditor can see.
How to Check to See If Your Driver’s License Is Suspended In Texas
The good news is it’s easy to check if a license is suspended in TX so you’ll never be caught unknowing. Simply visit the Texas Department of Public Safety Driver License Division License Eligibility website. Enter your driver license or ID number, date of birth, and the last 4 digits of your social security number to log in.
Once in, you’ll be able to do the following:
- Check driver’s license status in TX
- Pay fees
- View compliance items needed to determine and understand your license eligibility
- Track your driving eligibility status
Alternatively, you have the option to find out the status of your driver’s license suspension via email, phone, or in person.
How a Defense Attorney Can Help You Get the Surcharges Dropped and Get You Eligible for a Renewal
While it’s easy to check driver’s license status in TX, it can be a little more tricky to get surcharges dropped and get you eligible for renewal so that you can once again drive legally. Luckily, a defense attorney can help you complete the process quickly. Or if you are not eligible for reinstatement of your regular license an occupational license may be an option.
In addition, if you did not receive notice of a suspended license or were not aware you were violating the law, a lawyer may be able to get your charge dismissed, a lower fine and/or shorter jail time. You may even receive an early reinstatement of your license.
To learn more about how a defense attorney can help, contact The Law Office of Eric Harron today!