Hit and Run Attorney in Austin, TX
Hit and Run Definition
A hit-and-run is when the operator of a vehicle is involved in an accident that results in or is reasonably likely to result in injury or death. This charge may include the operators failure to give information and render aid and also applies to the operators duty when striking an unattended vehicle. This is a serious criminal charge in the state of Texas and, if found guilty, the penalty can range from a misdemeanor to a felony, depending on the severity of the situation. As a Texas lawyer who has experience in hit and run cases, I can help defend your case.
You can receive news that you were charged with a hit-and-run two ways. They can collect evidence from the other car such as paint that was transferred during the crash or information from witnesses. They can also link your car to the scene by getting your license plate information as you drive off or from witnesses. If charged, you will either receive a letter in the mail from the police letting you know of the situation and a request to question you or, if the situation is more severe, the police may come to your home to inform you of the charge.
Hit and Run Jail Time/Penalties
This law is taken very seriously in the state of Texas. Failure to remain at the scene where a person has been injured or killed is a third-degree felony and the penalty can be anywhere from 2 to 10 years in prison. Even if the injury of the other passenger isn’t serious, you can still be sentenced up to five years in prison or a hefty fine of up to $5,000. If you hit and run a scene where there has been property damage, it is a Class C misdemeanor if the damage is less than $200, and a Class B misdemeanor with up to six months in prison if the damage is over $200. Without the help of an experienced attorney, you could receive these penalties by hitting a parked car or someone’s yard without reporting the incident.
To avoid being charged, there are several things you must do at the scene of an accident in which you were involved. If there is an injury or death, you must try and give aid where possible. For any type of accident, you must provide your personal information, and present your license if asked by the other party. If you damage someone’s property, you must try reasonably to contact him or her about the incident.
Because this offense is taken so seriously by the court system, the laws can be difficult to understand. Fortunately, Texas criminal defense lawyers like me know their way around these laws and can explore your specific situation to see if you have a solid case.